Our Staff (by area)

Head of School Office

PositionNameContact
Head of School Dr Anne-Marie Morganhosedu@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3716
Deputy Head of School A/Professor Judy Miller jmiller7@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5071
Operations Manager Mr Steve Hanlan shanlan@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3865
Executive Officer Mrs Diane Mitchell dmitchel@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2560
Senior Administrative Assistant Mrs Anne Carlon acarlon@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3716
Acting Senior Administrative Assistant Ms Liz Sozou
on secondment until 31 October 2017
esozou@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5077
Senior Administrative Assistant

Ms Ruth Strutt 
currently on extended leave
to 31 October 2017

rstrutt@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3858
Administrative Assistant (0900-1400) Ms Carol Elder cegan@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3835

Teaching and Learning

PositionNameContact
Chair, Teaching and Learning A/Professor Linley Cornish lcornis2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3458
Director, Program Impact and Innovation

Dr Michelle Bannister-Tyrrell
secondment to January 2018

mbannist@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3840
Academic Manager Mr Simon Knight sknight3@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3842
Assistant Academic Manager Mr Tom Coopertcoope23@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5227
Senior Administrative Assistant Mrs Kim Barlowkim.barlow@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2237

Research

PositionNameContact
Chair, Research A/Professor Sue Gregory sgregor4@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5054

Office for Professional Learning

PositionNameContact
Manager Mr Tim Bartlett-Taylor http://www.une.edu.au/opl-contact
+61 2 6773 3898
Education Officer Ms Georgia Christiansen http://www.une.edu.au/opl-contact
+61 2 6773 3898
Schools Liaison Officer Ms Sue Haydon http://www.une.edu.au/opl-contact
+61 2 6773 3898
Acting Student Support Team Leader Ms Jessica Piddington jpiddin3@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3712
Student Support Team Leader

Ms Amanda Ferris
on secondment to 24 April 2017

http://www.une.edu.au/opl-contact
+61 2 6773 3898
Student Support Officer Ms Jenny Sauer http://www.une.edu.au/opl-contact
+61 2 6773 3898
Administrative Assistant (Student Support) Ms Kim Vallance http://www.une.edu.au/opl-contact
+61 2 6773 3898
Administrative Assistant Ms Amanda Watson http://www.une.edu.au/opl-contact
+61 2 6773 3898

Professional Staff

Name Position Contact
Mr Steve Grono Learning Designer sgrono2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5073

Mr Malcolm Abel

Educational Support Officer cabel@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3609
Mr Brett Bennett Administrative Assistant (Academic Teams) bbennett@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5642 
Ms Robyn Bultitude Administrative Assistant (Academic Teams) rbultitu@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3046
Ms Merran Pearson Administrative Assistant (Academic Teams)
- Monday to Thursday
mpearso6@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2309
Ms Liz Sozou Administrative Assistant (Academic Teams)
seconded to Senior Administrative Assistant
until 31 October 2017 
esozou@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5077
Ms Diane Swann Administrative Assistant (Academic Teams) dswann@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5081

Academic Subject Areas

Contextual Studies In Education

NamePositionContact
Dr Rose Amazan Lecturer
(on leave in 2017)
ramazan@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3998
A/Professor Robert Boughton Associate Professor rboughto@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2913
Dr Brian Denman Senior Lecturer bdenman@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2269
Dr Sirisena Gamage Senior Lecturer
(Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday)
sgamag2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3836
A/Professor Joy Hardy Associate Professor
(seconded to SiMERR)
jhardy7@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2520
Dr Stephen Heimans Lecturer

sheimans@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 4329

A/Professor Tiffany Jones Associate Professor
(absent from UNE until February 2019)
tjones35@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3847
Dr Kelvin McQueen Lecturer kmcquee2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3808
Dr Vegneskumar Maniam Lecturer vmaniam@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2509
Dr Adele Nye Senior Lecturer anye@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3171
A/Professor Keita Takayama Associate Professor ktakayam@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3472

Creative and Performing Arts Education

NamePositionContact
Dr Frances Alter Senior Lecturer falter2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3882
Dr Myung-Sook Auh Senior Lecturer mauh@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2917
Dr Lynn Everett Lecturer leverett@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2723

Early Childhood Education

NamePositionContact
Ms Jo Bird Lecturer jo.bird@une.edu.au
+ 61 2 6773 5802
Dr Margaret Brooks Senior Lecturer mbrooks3@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2654
Dr Sue Elliott Senior Lecturer sue.elliott@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5087
Dr Yukiyo Nishida Lecturer yukiyo.nishida@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 4299
Dr Angel Mok Lecturer mmok2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 1858
Genevieve Noone Lecturer
on LWOP until January 2018        
gnoone@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3171
Ms Marg Rogers (Baber) Lecturer mbaber@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2218
Professor Margaret Sims Professor margaret.sims@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3823
Dr Brenda Wolodko Senior Lecturer (0.4) bwolodko@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2021

English, Literacies and Language Education, including TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) and EAL/D (English as an Additional Language or Dialect)

NamePositionContact
Dr Eveline Chan Senior Lecturer eveline_chan@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3818
Dr Deidre ClaryAdjunct Lecturer

dclary@une.edu.au

Dr Devo Devrim Lecturer ddevrim@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3832
A/Professor Susan Feez Associate Professor sfeez@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2920
Ms Diane Hansford Lecturer dhansfo2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5012
Dr Stephen Kelly Lecturer skelly56@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 1897 
Dr Mutuota Kigotho Lecturer mkigotho@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3829
Dr Anne-Marie Morgan Senior Lecturer amorga23@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3869
Dr Zuocheng Zhang Senior Lecturer zzhang26@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3362

Health, Physical and Sports Studies Education

NamePositionContact
Dr Kristen Cohen Associate Lecturer kcohen4@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 1860
Dr Annette Freak Lecturer afreak@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2453
Dr John Haynes Lecturer jhaynes2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5091
A/Professor Judith Miller Associate Professor jmiller7@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5071
Dr Valeria Varea Lecturer vvarea3@une.edu.au
+61 2 67735094

ICT Education

NamePositionContact
Dr Rachael Adlington Lecturer rachael.adlington@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 4224
Dr Peter Fletcher Lecturer pfletch2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3904
A/Professor Sue Gregory Associate Professor sgregor4@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5054
Dr Mitch Parkes Senior Lecturer mparkes2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5082

Learning and Teaching, Special and Inclusive Education

NamePositionContact
Dr Michelle Bannister-Tyrrell Lecturer
(secondment to Director, Program Impact &
Innovation to January 2018) 
mbannist@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3840
A/Professor Jeanette Berman Associate Professor

jberman@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 1894

Dr Elisabeth Betlem Lecturer elisabeth.betlem@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3975
Dr Jennifer Charteris Senior Lecturer jcharte5@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3513
A/Professor Linley Cornish Associate Professor lcornis2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3458
Dr Ingrid Harrington Senior Lecturer iharring@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5968
Ms Kathy Jenkins Senior Lecturer kjenkins@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3850
Dr Marguerite Jones Lecturer mjones46@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2033
A/Professor Charles Kivunja Associate Professor ckivunja@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2005
Dr Angela Page Lecturer angela.page@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5849
A/Professor Huy Phan Associate Professor hphan2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3327

Mathematics Education

NamePositionContact
Dr Bing Ngu Senior Lecturer bngu@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2328
Dr Theodosia Prodromou Lecturer theodosia.prodromou@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3237
A/Professor Pep Serow Associate Professor pserow2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2378
Dr Brenda Wolodko Senior Lecturer (0.6) bwolodko@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2021
Dr Martin Schmude Lecturer mschmud2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2943

Pacific Education & Development

NamePositionContact
A/Professor Pep Serow Project Co-Leader pserow2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3278 
Mrs Roberta Thompson Project Co-ordinator rthomp22@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5475 
Professor Neil Taylor Project Co-Leader neil.taylor@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5064 
Dr Terry Sullivan Senior Lecturer tsulli23@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2043
Ms Dianne Smardon Lecturer (on island) dsmardon@une.edu.au
Dr Jan Connelly Senior Lecturer jconne7@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5391 
Dr Ben McInnes Lecturer (on island) bmcinne3@une.edu.au
Ms Madeline Fussell Academic and Professional Mentor (on island) fussell48@gmail.com

Science Education

NamePositionContact
Dr Frances Quinn Lecturer fquinn@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3411
Dr Nadya Rizk Lecturer nrizk3@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3714
Professor Neil Taylor Professor neil.taylor@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5064
Dr Subhashni Taylor Lecturer btaylo26@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3363
Dr Robert Whannell Senior Lecturer, STEM Education

rwhannel@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5981

Social Science Education

NamePositionContact
Dr Graeme Bourke Senior Lecturer gbourke3@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2832
Dr Inga Brasche Lecturer
(Mon/Wed/Fri)
ibrasche@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3348
Dr Aaron Sigauke Lecturer a.sigauke@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3885

SiMERR

NamePositionContact
Professor John Pegg Director jpegg@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5070

A/Professor Joy Hardy

Deputy Director

jhardy4@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2520
Dr Ken Vine UNE-PNU Project kvine@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2319
Ms Sylvia Danieli Finance Officer sdanieli@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5871
Mrs Helen Doyle QuickSmart for Adults hdoyle2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 2538
Dr Stefan Horarik QuickSmart Data Analysis shorarik@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3256
Mr Martin Trotman QuickSmart Social Inclusion mtrotma3@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3135
Mrs Anne Parnell QuickSmart Numeracy aparnel2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 4289
Mrs Lyn Alder QuickSmart Literacy lalder2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5060
Mr Bogdan Iamandei IT Manager biamande@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5401 
Mr Andrew Goode IT Support Officer agoode@une.edu.au
+61 6773 5061
Mr Chris Nimmo Programmer cnimmo@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3821
Mr Alwaleed Alssamani Programmer aalssam2@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3809
Mrs June Billings Executive Assistant to John Pegg jbillin5@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 5065
Mrs Chaturi Nillesen Casual Administrative Assistant cgamage3@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 4564
Mr Ambrose McDermott Casual - QuickSmart Officer amcderm5@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 3193
Ms Chris Reading Senior Research Fellow creading@une.edu.au
+61 2 6773 1745
Mrs Sophie Westermarck QuickSmart Operations Officer mwesterm@une.edu.au
+61 6773 2983
Ms Rhiannon Wright Administrative Assistant SiMERR rwrigh21@une.edu.au
+61 6773 5067

Adjunct Staff

NamePositionContact
Dr Colin Bale Adjunct Honarary Associate beechwoodstudio@gmail.com
Dr Helen Edwards Adjunct Lecturer hedward2@une.edu.au
Professor Lorraine Graham Adjunct Professor lorraine.graham@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ros James Adjunct Senior Lecturer rjames6@une.edu.au
Dr Pauline Jones Adjunct Senior Lecturer pauline_jones@uow.edu.au
Dr Yvonne Masters Adjunct Senior Lecturer ymasters@une.edu.au
Professor Tom Maxwell Adjunct Professor tmaxwell47@gmail.com
Dr David Paterson Adjunct Associate Professor David.Paterson@canberra.edu.au
Ms Sylvia Ransom Adjunct Associate Lecturer sylvia.ransom@gmail.com
Dr Chris Reading Adjunct Senior Lecturer creading@une.edu.au
Professor Steve Tobias Adjunct Professor stobias@une.edu.au
Professor Len Unsworth Adjunct Professor lunswort@une.edu.au
Professor Graham Webb Adjunct Professor gwebb4@une.edu.au
Dr James (Jim) White Adjunct Professor jim.white@det.nsw.edu.au