SSAF Committee

What does the Student Services and Amenities Fee Committee do?

The SSAF Committee is the University body that considers proposals for the use of SSAF funding and recommends an allocation of funds to the Vice-Chancellor for her approval. The Committee receives a variety of proposals from student and staff groups and works to ensure that SSAF revenue is spent in a manner that addresses a broad selection of student needs and desires.

Who sits on the Committee?

The Committee is made up of five staff and five student representatives. The staff representatives are drawn from a wide range of administrative areas that are involved in the provision of student services and the student representatives are drawn from students elected by the student community.

Staff Representatives

  • Kris Kauffmann, Chief Financial Officer (Chair)
  • Jo Scanlan, Facilities Management Services Representative
  • Caroline Pflaumer-Winter, Student Success Representative
  • Ben Bible, UNE Life Representative
  • Ashwin Bhutani, UNE Residential System Representative

Student Representatives

  • Catherine Boyd
  • Dale Finch
  • Peter Musinguzi
  • Isaac Wade
  • Ashley Woods

Student representatives hold their office for a term of two years and the terms of representatives are staggered so that new Committee members are elected every year. Elections for student representatives are held in the early part of each year.

How can I submit a proposal to the Committee?

Applications for SSAF funding in 2019 are expected to open in late June. Proposal documents will be published at that time.

How can I join the Committee?

Elections for student representatives are held once a year, in March after the start of Trimester 1. All students who are currently enrolled in a degree and are not UNE staff members are eligible to stand for election and vote. Information regarding elections will be sent to the University email of all eligible students.