Collaborative Research Network — Mental Health

About the project

This CRN project is supported by the Department of Education.

The University of New England (UNE) has been awarded $4.8 million dollars from the Australian Government to establish a Collaborative Research Network (CRN) on Mental Health and Well-being in Rural and Regional Communities. The project is managed by UNE in collaboration with five partners:

  • The University of Newcastle
  • The University of Sydney
  • La Trobe University
  • The University of New South Wales, and the
  • Hunter New England Local Heath District (HNELHD).

The CRN is supported by a large and dynamic biopsychosocial team of senior academic staff across five universities. The activities of the CRN will build links with rural communities and health providers with focus on 3 thematic areas:

Theme A: Self-care and mental health within regional communities (UNE, U. Sydney, U. Newcastle, HNELHN)

Theme B: Sexuality, identity & mental health impacts on well-being and inclusion (UNE, La Trobe University — Australian Research Centre in Sex, Health & Society)

Theme C: Biomedical science to support rural mental health (UNE, UNSW, U. Newcastle)

The Steering Committee


Professor Heiko Daniel (UNE)

DVC (Research) — Chairperson

Claire Baker (UNE)

CRN Project Manager

Michelle Rottcher (UNE)

CRN Project Officer

Professor Rafat Hussain (UNE)

School of Rural Health

Adjunct Professor John Scott (UNE)

Sociology — Behavioural, Cognitive & Social Sciences

Professor Jim McFarlane (UNE)

Physiology, Science & Technology

Professor Brian Kelly (UoN)

School of Medicine and Public Health

Dr Andrew Black (U Syd)

Director, Research Development

Professor Gwynnyth Llewellyn (U Syd)

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Keith Nugent (La Trobe U)

DVC and VP (Research)

Professor Gary Dowsett (La Trobe U)

Deputy Director, Australian Research Centre in Sex, Health and Society

Warwick Dawson (UNSW)

Director, Research Partnerships

Associate Professor Grainne Moran (UNSW)

Director, NSW Analytical Centre

Michael DiRienzo (HNEAHS)

Chief Executive

David McLeod (HNEAHS)

Manager of Nursing Services for Mental Health