UNE welcomes new Regional Universities Centres

Published 04 June 2020

The University of New England (UNE) welcomes the recent announcement of funding of nine additional regional study hubs through the federal government’s Regional University Centres (RUC) program, allowing future students and their supporting communities even more access to quality tertiary education resources.

The nine new Centres join a network of Regional University Centres across Australia as well as University-lead regional hubs such as UNE’s campuses in Tamworth, Taree and Sydney and regional study centre network in the New England North West.

In 2019, UNE signed a formal partnership agreement with Country Universities Centres to provide strong student and academic support for university students within remote, rural and regional communities.

“Our objective through this partnership is to increase knowledge creation, education and innovation in regional areas, expand placement opportunities for students studying for degrees with a strong component of regional connectivity and increase the number of Commonwealth Supported Places for students in regional Australia.”

UNE Vice Chancellor Professor Brigid Heywood said that UNE was a strong supporter of the community-driven Taree University Centre bid. UNE already has an established presence in the Mid-North Coast region through the UNE Taree campus.

“The announcement of funding of this new facility will mean a boost to student support and educational resources in the region, aligning with UNE’s commitment to the area,” Professor Heywood said.

The application was led by Dr David Gillespie MP, Member for Lyne and a local Board including three UNE alumni.

Already operating in eight regional New South Wales communities, the most recent funding announcement means CUC will be opening new sites in NSW as well as their first one in Victoria and three sites in Queensland.

CUC CEO, Duncan Taylor, said “The CUC is already working closely with UNE in developing successful models of support for UNE students in CUC Centres across the eight existing regional locations. The CUC is delighted to be now working with UNE to expand these supports for UNE students across the seven new CUC sites funded under the very recently announced Commonwealth Regional University Centre program.”