UNE honours sporting achievement and commitment

Published 26 October 2011

sarahcookSarah Cook, the Beijing Olympian who is studying for a Graduate Diploma in Education at UNE, was named University of New England Sportsperson of the Year during the University’s 63rd Annual Sports Awards presentation night last week.

The Annual Sports Awards celebrate the sporting achievements of colleges, teams and individuals within the UNE community and recognise those who have made outstanding contributions to sport at State, national, and international levels.

Sarah Cook (pictured here on the night), who holds a SportUNE Clem Jones Scholarship, has competed in four World Rowing Championships, winning a silver medal in the women’s fours at last year’s Championships in New Zealand. The winner of a silver medal in single scull rowing at this year’s Australian University Games, she was the special guest at the UNE Sports Awards.

Emma Gillogly was awarded a Full Sporting Blue to recognise various achievements during her study at UNE – most recently her selection in the Australian Rugby Sevens Women’s Squad. This will see her competing internationally and across Australia over the next year.

Emma has represented UNE in athletics, touch football and soccer at various intervarsity competitions, including the Australian University Games, Northern University Games and Eastern University Games, and has captained the UNE team in intervarsity competitions for three consecutive years. In 2010 she won UNE’s Spirit of Sport award for her active participation in sport and physical recreation, displaying a positive attitude, and inspiring others.

This year the Spirit of Sport award went to Dr Jack Hobbs, an Honorary Life Member of Sport UNE. Jack has been a committed member of SportUNE since 1965, is a past president of cricket, hockey and fitness clubs, and has served on various committees. He is currently serving on the Board of Directors, and is a former President.

Alex Badaoui was awarded a Half Sporting Blue in recognition of his gold medal in taekwondo at this year’s Australian University Games.

Sports Recognition Awards, acknowledging valuable service to sport, were presented to Dominique Carter, Samantha Manet Lees and Bradley Smith.

The Intervarsity Team of the Year award went to the women’s soccer team that competed at the Northern University Games. The Australian University Games women’s tennis team received the Spirit of the Games Award.

Rugby Union had a successful year, with St Albert’s Rugby winning the McDonalds Club of the Year award and the UNE Club Team of the Year award. Ian Tonkin of the UNE Barbarians Rugby Union Club was named Coach of the Year, and Sam Piddington won a Club Honours Award.

Peter Barker also received a Club Honours Award, and Charlotte Egan was named Sports Administrator of the Year.

Drummond and Smith College won the Mary Bagnall Trophy for female intercollegiate sport, and Duval College won the President’s Trophy for male intercollegiate sport.

Members of the UNE and Armidale communities enjoyed the Sports Awards evening, which was hosted by Mark Lowe, Sports Editor for ABC Radio New England North West. “It’s wonderful for us to recognise the achievements of our students and volunteers who have helped make 2011 a very successful year of sport at UNE,” said SportUNE’s Executive Director, David Schmude.