UNE prepares for a celebration of academic achievement

Published 24 March 2011

GraduationMore than 2,200 people are graduating from the University of New England this autumn, and more than 1,000 of them will be receiving their awards in person during the University’s four Autumn Graduation ceremonies over the next two weekends.

The first ceremony, on Friday 25 March, will be for people graduating in the Sciences, Health and Medicine, and the subsequent ceremonies will be for the disciplines of Education (Saturday 26 March), Law, Economics, Business and Public Policy (Friday 1 April), and Arts and Humanities, including the Behavioural, Cognitive and Social Sciences (Saturday 2 April).

The lawns of “Booloominbah” will be crowded with up to 1,000 visitors – friends and relatives of the graduands – on each of the four days.

Three distinguished Australians who have long-standing associations with UNE will be presented with honorary awards: on Saturday 26 March Mrs Edwina Ridgway OAM will receive the award of Doctor of the University, and on Saturday 2 April Professor Sharon Sullivan AO will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Letters, and Mrs Jennifer Crew OAM will be made a Distinguished Fellow of the University.

Mrs Ridgway, the Principal of UNE’s Duval College and Drummond & Smith College, will present the Occasional Address on Saturday 26 March, and Professor Sullivan, a UNE graduate and former Executive Director of the Australian Heritage Commission, will present the Occasional Address on Saturday 2 April.

The Occasional Address speaker on Friday 25 March will be the NSW Chief Scientist and Scientific Engineer, Professor Mary O’Kane. Professor O’Kane, who was Vice-Chancellor and President of Adelaide University from 1996 to 2001, is Chair of the Australian Centre for Renewable Energy and Chair of the Cooperative Research Centre for Spatial Information. The speaker on Friday 1 April will be Adam Graycar, Professor of Public Policy at the Australian National University and Dean of the Australian National Institute of Public Policy.