UNE Sports Awards recognise ‘achievement’ and ‘commitment’

Published 21 October 2010

cupSonya Chervonsky, who won the Oceanic Judo Championship earlier this year, was named Sportsperson of the Year at the University of New England’s 62nd Annual Sports Awards presentation ceremony on Monday evening.

Sonya, who also won a gold medal at this year’s NSW Open Championships, has travelled to Singapore, Japan, England, France, Hungary, Germany, Poland, the Czech Republic, Romania, Estonia and New Zealand this year in the course of her training and competition schedule. Her Sportsperson of the Year award recognised her outstanding achievement in competing internationally throughout the year.

murrayMurray Scown (pictured here), who competed in the World University Orienteering Championships in Sweden earlier this year, was presented with a Full Blue Award to acknowledge his services to University sport through his orienteering.

Emma Gillogly received the Spirit of Sport Award in recognition of her active and regular participation in sport and physical recreation while displaying a positive spirit and an enjoyment that is an inspiration to others.

The special guest at this year’s awards evening was Jock Bullen, a champion cyclist who has attended six Olympics and seven Commonwealth Games as mechanic for the Australian team. “Jock Bullen is a legend of Australian cycling, so it was invigorating to hear about his sporting experiences,” said Dave Schmude, Executive Director of SportUNE.

UNE’s Annual Sports Awards celebrate the achievements of individual athletes, teams and sports administrators.  “There are some incredible people in the UNE sporting scene,” Mr Schmude said. “It’s very important to recognise the achievements and commitment of these people and teams.”

Sports Recognition Awards, which acknowledge their valuable services to sport, were presented to Charlie Belfield and Bernie Hine.

Libby Jeisman received the Olivia Molineaux Memorial Award in recognition of her outstanding contribution to intercollegiate sport at UNE.

cup2UNE Netball had a successful night, with Ali McKenzie being named Sports Administrator of the Year, Laura Cambridge being named Coach of the Year, and Peta Evans receiving a Club Honours Award. (Clicking on the image displayed here reveals a photograph of Laura Cambridge with her award.)

Club Honours Awards, recognising exceptional contribution and administration, were also presented to Brock Lamont of the UNE Men’s Soccer Club, Adrian Walsh of the Nomads AFL Club, and Mick McCarthy of Robb College Rugby Club.

Teams from the Eastern University Games were also successful, with the UNE Women’s Soccer Team winning the UNE Intervarsity Team of the Year Award and the UNE Women’s Volleyball team winning the Spirit of the Games Award.

The Club Team of the Year Award went to the UNE Stingers A-Grade netball team, and the McDonalds Club of the Year Award went to the UNE Water Polo Club.