NSW to get its own Fulbright Scholarship

Published 30 March 2009

fulbrightYoung researchers in NSW universities will now be able to apply for a highly-regarded international scholarship that will enable them to travel overseas to study with leading researchers in the United States.

The Premier of NSW, the Honourable Nathan Rees MP, announced during a recent event at the University of NSW that the NSW Government had invested $250,000 in the establishment of the Fulbright NSW Scholarship, with matching funding contributed by all the universities in NSW.

“The Fulbright program supports people who excel in any discipline – from academia to business and the arts,” Mr Rees said. “The scholarship will be valued at A$50,000, with the first applications to be invited in June this year, and the winner will be a postgraduate or postdoctoral student whose project is judged to have the greatest potential benefit for NSW.”

The Vice-Chancellors of all the universities in NSW have expressed their appreciation of the support for higher education by the NSW Government indicated in the establishment of the scholarship.

Professor Alan Pettigrew, Vice-Chancellor of the University of New England, said that the financial cooperation between the NSW Government and all the NSW universities was “a testament to the commitment of both sectors to the future development of NSW”. “This is an exciting step forward for innovation in our State,” Professor Pettigrew said.

Mr Tom Pascarella, Chair of the Australian-American Fulbright Commission, said that the Fulbright NSW Scholarship would give talented young people from NSW special opportunities to participate in the Fulbright Program. “It will promote professional and academic links between the United States and NSW, with research projects that will provide long-term benefits to the State,” Mr Pascarella said.

Clicking on the image displayed here reveals a photograph of Mr Rees (centre) and members of the NSW Vice-Chancellors Committee (Professor Pettigrew fourth from left) with Mrs Judith Fergin (US Consul General, Sydney), Professor Mary O’Kane (NSW Chief Scientist and Scientific Engineer), and Mr Tom Pascarella and Dr Joe Hlubucek from the Australian-American Fulbright Commission at the announcement of the Fulbright NSW Scholarship. Photo: Prudence Upton.