1,000 students graduating from UNE this Spring

Published 08 October 2008


Two distinguished scientists who have moved with great success into the field of educational and research management will be the Occasional Address speakers at the University of New England’s Spring Graduation ceremonies later this week.

Professor Peter Flood, UNE’s Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research), will speak at the ceremony for the Faculty of Arts and Sciences on Friday 10 October, and Professor Paul Clark, Vice-Chancellor of Southern Cross University, will speak at the ceremony for the Faculty of The Professions on the following day.

Professor Flood, a geologist and UNE alumnus, has served UNE as Head of School, Dean of Science, and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research). Professor Clark, a physicist, has held the positions of Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of the Sunshine Coast, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Victoria University of Technology in Melbourne, and Dean of Science and Head of Applied Physics at the Capricornia Institute in Rockhampton.

About 1,000 people are graduating from UNE this Spring, with many of them travelling to Armidale to attend the ceremonies. Both ceremonies will be on the lawns of “Booloominbah”, beginning at 10.30 am.

During Friday’s ceremony the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Alan Pettigrew, will present a UNE Young Distinguished Alumni Award to Dr Tanya Hanstock. Dr Hanstock, who graduated from UNE with a BA (Honours) degree in 2000 and a Doctor of Psychology degree in 2003, has dedicated her early career to helping children with mental illness.

During Saturday’s ceremony, Professor Pettigrew will present another Young Distinguished Alumni Award – this one to Nicolette Burraston, who graduated from UNE in 2006 as a Bachelor of Science / Bachelor of Teaching. Ms Burraston’s outstanding success in enthusing students about science was recognised as the “best national achievement by a beginning teacher” in this year’s Australian Government Quality Schooling Awards. She also won the Minister for Education’s Medal of Distinction for 2008.