Citations recognise contributions to learning quality

Published 10 September 2008

altc.jpgOutstanding contributions to the learning experience of students by members of staff at the University  of New England have once again received national recognition through the annual Citations of the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC – formerly the Carrick Institute).

During a ceremony in Sydney last month, the Executive Director of the ALTC, Professor Richard Johnstone, presented seven Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning to individuals and groups representing both the academic staff and the general staff of UNE.

In the words of the ALTC itself, the Citations recognise people “who have made a significant contribution to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period”. UNE staff members have received a total of 25 Citations since the awards began in 2006.

This year’s UNE Citations went to:

Dr Josie Fisher, “for sustained commitment to motivating off-campus students to form a community of learners that encourages critical engagement with issues in business and professional ethics”.

Associate Professor Tom Maxwell, “for a decade of national and international leadership in innovative curriculum development and research in more professional, workplace-oriented teacher education”.

Dr Chris Reading, “for commitment to the enhancement of the final-year Education student learning experience through the sustained development of authentic assessment processes”.

The Student Assist Team (Rhonda Leece, Airlie Bell, Kim Glover, Annette Stevenson), “for implementing innovative and responsive programs that provide holistic support for all students to stay academically focused while maintaining a healthy wellbeing”.

Edwina Ridgeway, “for many years of caring and dedicated work within the residential college system, implementing and maintaining programs and facilities supporting students’ learning and life skills”.

The German Team (Professor Kerry Dunne, Dr Linda Hess-Liechti, Dr Julia Petzl-Berney, Jenny Evans, Iain Mackay, Peter Hess, Dr Beat Lehmann), “for sustained innovation in using technologies to foster distance education students’ becoming autonomous language learners”.

Isabel Tasker, “for sustained dedication to understanding and meeting the needs of students undertaking the challenges of learning Mandarin – on and off campus – and inspiring them to succeed”.

The ALTC emphasises that people who are awarded Citations “are widely recognised for their achievements within the nominating institution, and have received strong institutional endorsement”.

In congratulating the University’s nominees – and all those involved in the application process – on their “wonderful effort”, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Alan Pettigrew, said that their success represented the achievement of “the broad community of those who support our students”.

Professor Belinda Tynan, who coordinated the applications from UNE, praised the work of the University’s selection committee – comprising members of the academic staff, the general staff and the Teaching and Learning Centre, and previous Citation winners. “We go through a rigorous process,” she said, “giving feedback and support to the nominees while helping them develop their applications.”

“The whole process has good repercussions for UNE’s Schools and Faculties,” added Professor Tynan, who is the University’s contact officer for ALTC activities.

The Citations were presented during a ceremony at the University of NSW on the 5th of August.

A PHOTOGRAPH of the UNE group that went to Sydney for the ALTC award ceremony can be seen by clicking on the image displayed here. It shows, from left (back row) Eve Woodberry (UNE’s Pro Vice-Chancellor, Academic), Professor Graham Webb (UNE’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor), Professor Kerry Dunne, Dr Linda Hess-Liechti, Dr Julia Petzl-Berney; (middle row) Professor Belinda Tynan, Annette Stevenson, Dr Chris Reading, Edwina Ridgeway, Dr Josie Fisher; (front row) Airlie Bell, Kim Glover, Jenny Evans, Isabel Tasker, Rhonda Leece.