

# eResearch Committee - Terms of Reference

### I. Purpose

- (1) UNE's eResearch Committee is responsible for advising the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) and University Research Committee:
  - a. on the University's digital research strategy and digital elements of the University's strategic research plans, and
  - b. on matters of academic governance relating to digital research and digital research training, including relevant digital services, tools, and infrastructure.

## II. Membership

- (2) The Committee's membership is a mixture of academic and professional staff from Faculties, Technology and Digital Services, Research Services, and the University Library. The Committee will consist of:
  - a. Chair
    - Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) or academic nominee from the Committee approved by Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research).
  - b. Deputy Chair
    - i. Academic nominee appointed by the Chair from academic staff members.
  - c. Academic staff members:
    - Up to nine academic representatives with relevant experience/expertise and with an interest in advancing UNE's eResearch capabilities and culture;
    - ii. Academic representatives will be appointed from multiple Disciplines or Schools.
  - d. Central Service staff members:
    - i. eResearch Secretary, Research Services Directorate;
    - ii. eResearch Analyst, Intersect;
    - iii. Library Representative;
    - iv. Business Manager or delegate, Technology and Digital Services;
    - v. Program Manager, Computational Analytics Software and Informatics.
  - e. Additional members:
    - i. The Committee may invite or coopt additional Central Service

and academic staff based on their valuable contributions to the Committee's agenda items at the time.

#### Term of membership

(3) The term of membership for academic representatives is two years and may be renewed after that term.

#### **Appointment**

- (4) An academic member may be appointed where a vacancy occurs.
- (5) An appointed position for an academic member becomes automatically vacant if:
  - a. The appointed academic member is absent without leave from the Chair from three consecutive meetings, or
  - b. The appointed academic member leaves his/her position at the University.
- (6) The membership for professional staff on the Committee is based on the specific role of each Central Service staff and professional staff remain on the Committee for as long as they hold their Central Service role.
- (7) The Chair and Deputy Chair of the eResearch Committee may hold their position for two years.
- (8) Gender representation shall accord with the <u>Gender Representation on</u> <u>Decision- Making and Advisory Committees Policy.</u>

#### **III.** Terms of Reference

#### **Functions**

- (9) The Committee's functions are:
  - a. To progress eResearch across the Creating Knowledge Focus Areas as set out in UNE Strategic Plan Future Fit, and
  - b. To seek opportunities to align the University's Thematic Research Priorities with relevant national strategies
  - c. To provide advice to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) on an ad hoc basis upon request on topics related to eResearch.
- (10) to respond to challenges and opportunities in eResearch as they arise, the Committee will propose a 12-month program of projects each year to the University Research Committee, which will drive the Committee's business.

#### Authority

(11) The eResearch Committee is authorised to seek data and information from the University through the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research to meet the eResearch Committee's functions.

#### IV. Conduct of Business

- (12) The eResearch Committee reports to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research).
- (13) The Committee will provide one or two written reports in each calendar year to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) for tabling at the University Research Committee.

#### Meetings

(14) The eResearch Committee will meet at least five times per year, or otherwise as required to perform its functions.

#### **Business papers**

- (15) Unless the Chair directs otherwise, eResearch Committee business papers will be distributed to members at least seven days prior to the meeting, or such shorter period as is practicable in the circumstances.
- (16) Public disclosure of business papers, minutes and other information received by the Research Committee should only be made via the Chair or Secretary to the committee.

#### Quorum

(17) At any meeting of the committee, one half of the membership plus one constitutes a quorum.

#### Use of technology

(18) For its business papers, meetings and otherwise to conduct its business, the eResearch Committee and its members may use technology including telephone, video-conferencing, telepresence, email and internet as arranged by the Chair and/or Secretary to the committee.

#### Resolutions

(19) The eResearch Committee may pass a resolution by 'flying minute' provided that the resolution has been approved by a simple majority of committee members at the time the resolution is made.

#### Confirmation of minutes

(20) Draft minutes will normally be circulated to members for comment promptly after each meeting. Next, the minutes (with any necessary changes) will be circulated for adoption by the Research Committee. The minutes will be finalised and adopted when they have been approved by a majority of the members that were present at the relevant meeting. Alternatively, the minutes may be included in the business papers for the next committee meeting and considered and adopted by the committee at that meeting.

#### Self-review

(21) Once annually the Research Committee shall devote part of one meeting to the review of its policies, practices and procedures over the preceding twelve months.

# Secretary to Research Committee

(22) The Research Services will provide secretarial and administrative support delegate via the Research Services Office.

Approved: 17 April 2023

# Annexure 1 Current Members

Central Service staff	Academic Representatives
<ul> <li>Ms Peta Scott (eResearch Analyst, Intersect)</li> </ul>	Prof. Einar Thorsteinsson (Psychology), Chair
<ul> <li>Mrs Georgia Sharp (delegate from Research Services)</li> </ul>	A/Prof. Mick Morrison (HASS) Deputy Chair
<ul> <li>Mr Geoffrey Hart (Library Research Representative, Library)</li> </ul>	Dr Sarah Mika (ERS)
<ul> <li>Mr Dan Dooner (Associate Director, Data Services - Technology and Digital Services)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Dr William Billingsley (Computational Science, Science and Technology)</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>Mr Johan Boshoff (Program Manager CASI, Science and Technology)</li> </ul>	Dr Phillip Gurman (AGBU)
<ul> <li>Mr Mau Te'o (Head, Business Intelligence and Analytics)</li> </ul>	A/Prof. Mia Mahmudur Rahim (Law)
•	Dr Stoo Sepp (Education)