Our People

Staff
Name Contact Details
Professor Martin Thoms
Director
Phone: +61 2 6773 2768
Email: mthoms2@une.edu.au
Associate Professor Elaine Barclay
Senior Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 2014
Email: ebarclay@une.edu.au
Mr Michael Coleman
IndoBeef Project Officer 
Phone: +61 2 6773 3859
Email: mcolema8@une.edu.au 
Mr Jim Kerr
Junior Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Email: irf@une.edu.au
Associate Professor Graham Marshall
Principal Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 3250
Email: gmarshal@une.edu.au
Dr Phil Morley
Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 5211
Email: pmorley@une.edu.au
Dr Ian Reeve
Casual Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 5145
Email: ireeve@une.edu.au
Dr Geoff Smith
Senior Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 3616
Email: geoff.smith@une.edu.au
Adjunct Staff

Institute staff partner with a range of academics from other universities and research institutions. The following academics have been accepted as Institute Adjuncts and are available to assist in and partner Institute staff in a range of research pursuits.

Name Contact Details
Professor David Brunckhorst
Emeritus Professor
Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Email: irf@une.edu.au
Dr David Curtis
Adjunct Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Email: irf@une.edu.au
Dr Doug Gray
Adjunct Professor
Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Email: dougiegray@bigpond.com
Dr Donald Irving
Adjunct Associate Professor 
Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Email: donald.irving@dpi.nsw.gov.au
Dr Judith McNeill
Adjunct Senior Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 2260
Email: jmcneill@une.edu.au
Mr Tim Nelson
Adjunct Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6772 2220
Email:  tanelson@agl.com.au
Professor Jonathan Rushton
Adjunct Professor
Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Email: jrushton@rvc.ac.uk
Mr Richard Stayner
Adjunct Research Fellow
Phone: +61 2 6773 2281
Email: rstayner@une.edu.au
Dr Jamie Trammell
Adjunct Lecturer
Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Email: ejtrammell@uaa.alaska.edu
Professor Jeremy Williams
Adjunct Professor
Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Email: jembwilliams@gmail.com
Research Associates

Research collaboration has occurred with staff from a variety of disciplines and centres across UNE. The staff listed below, Institute Research Associates, have worked closely with Institute staff in development of research proposals, presentation of seminars, co-writing research publications, and working jointly on research projects.

Institute staff also give regular guest lectures, or work as casual lecturers to support the teaching programs of various UNE schools.

School of Behavioural, Cognitive and Social Sciences

NameContact Details
Professor Tony Sorensen
Geography and Planning
Email: Tony.Sorensen@une.edu.au
Professor John Scott
Criminology
Phone: +61 2 6773 2116
Email: jscott6@une.edu.au
Professor Don Hine
Psychology
Phone: +61 2 6773 2731
Email: dhine@une.edu.au
Dr Fran Rolley
Geography and Planning
Phone: +61 2 6773 2822
Email: frolley@une.edu.au
Dr Elaine Barclay
Criminology
Phone: +61 2 6773 2014
Email: ebarclay@une.edu.au

UNE Business School

NameContact Details
Professor Oscar Cacho
Agricultural and Resource Economics
Phone: +61 2 6773 3215
Email: ocacho@une.edu.au
Professor Euan Fleming
Agricultural and Resource Economics
Phone: +61 2 6773 2775
Email: efleming@une.edu.au
Professor Mahinda Siriwardana
Economics
Phone: +61 2 6773 2501
Email: asiriwar@une.edu.au
Associate Professor Rene Villano
Economics
Phone: +61 2 6773 2027
Email: rvillan2@une.edu.au
Associate Professor Phil Simmons
Agricultural and Resource Economics
Phone: +61 2 6773 2314
Email: psimmons@une.edu.au
Dr Nam Hoang
Economics
Phone: +61 2 6773 2682
Email: nam.hoang@une.edu.au
Dr Jonathan Moss
Agricultural and Resource Economics
Phone: +61 2 6773 3677
Email: jonathan.moss@une.edu.au

School of Environmental and Rural Science

Name Contact Details
Professor Brian Sindel
Agronomy and Soil Science
Phone: +61 2 6773 3747
Email: bsindel@une.edu.au
Professor Steve Walkden-Brown
Animal Science
Phone: +61 2 6773 3922
Email: swalkden@une.edu.au
Professor James Rowe
Chief Executive Officer, Sheep CRC
Phone: +61 2 6773 1316
Email: james.rowe@sheepcrc.org.au
Professor Nick Reid
Ecosystem Management
Phone: +61 2 6773 2759
Email: nrei3@une.edu.au
Associate Professor Lewis Kahn
Animal Science
Phone: +61 2 6773 2997
Email: lkahn3@une.edu.au
Dr Julian Prior
Ecosystem Management
Phone: +61 2 6773 3610
Email: jprior2@une.edu.au
Mr Rex Glencross-Grant
Environmental Engineering
Phone: +61 2 6773 2668
Email: rglencro@une.edu.au

Research Services Directorate

Name Contact Details
Dr Philip Thomas
Research Education
Phone: +61 2 6773 3674
Email: Philip.Thomas@une.edu.au
Postgraduate Students
Student Start Project Supervisor
Ms Siobhan Davies2015'An Institutional Cost Effectiveness Analysis of Australia's Murray Darling Basin Plan'Principal supervisor: Associate Professor Graham Marshall
Ms Madeleine Black 2015 'Strategies to Increase Adoption of Biodiversity Conservation Practices on Farmland in the Border Rivers, Gwydir and Lower Namoi Catchments' Co-supervisor: Associate Professor Graham Marshall
Mr Xiaojun Yu2015'The Determinants of Chinese Private Owned Enterprises Obtaining Bank Loans'Co-supervisor: Dr Sam Meng
Mr John Greenway 2015 'Place-shaping - Towards Sustainability and a Green Economy. A Case Study of Two Localities' Co-supervisors: Associate Professor Graham Marshall and Dr Judith McNeill
Mr Yaichiro Akioka 2014 'Energy supply in the aftermath of the Fukushima Nuclear meltdown' Co-supervisors: Dr Sam Meng and Dr Judith McNeill
Mr Tim Nelson 2013 'The emergence of new energy technologies - economic and public policy implications of Australia's changing electricity markets' Principal supervisor: Dr Judith McNeill; Co-supervisor: Dr Sam Meng
Mr Socheat Sieng 2013 'Improving the Cambodian beef industry through stakeholder participation in biosecurity' Co-supervisors: Associate Professor Ian Patrick and Dr Geoff Smith
Mr Chris Harbinger 2013 'Impact of Changes in Construction Industry Activity: a CGE Approach' Co-supervisor: Dr Judith McNeill
Mr Ngo Duy Dong 2013 'Australian energy supply in a low carbon economy: a CGE approach' Co-supervisor: Dr Sam Meng
Ms Tran Minh Tran 2013 'The distributional and welfare effects of the Australian carbon tax' Co-supervisor: Dr Sam Meng
Ms Can Wang Tran 2013 'Trade and Agricultural Domestic Support Policy in China to Solve Rural Poverty: A Dynamic CGE Analysis' Co-supervisor: Dr Sam Meng
Mr Craig McLoughlin 2013 'Towards closing adaptive management cycles associated with freshwater production' Co-supervisor: Associate Professor Graham Marshall
Ms Justine Philip 2013 'Traversing the Barrier Fence; Examining the Dingo-Human Interface in Native and Exotic Environments'Co-supervisor: Dr Ian Reeve
Mr Bright Asante 2012  Co-supervisor: Associate Professor Ian Patrick

General enquiries

Institute for Rural Futures
University of New England
Armidale NSW 2351
Australia

Phone: +61 2 6773 2220
Fax: +61 2 6773 3245
Email: irf@une.edu.au 

Institute for Rural Futures location on the UNE campus:

Map of UNE campus showing location of Institute for Rural Futures