Members & Associates

Members and Associates of the Centre include academic staff of the University, professionals involved with local government, and members and directors of other Centres with congruent interests to this centre. Membership or associate membership is available by application or invitation. Membership is free, and is available to all with an interest in local government matters, whose interests are compatible with the strategic directions of the Centre. If you are interested in becoming associated with the Centre, please contact the Director for further information.

Professor Brian DolleryProfessor Brian Dollery

UNE Business School
Director of the UNE Centre for Local Government
Phone: (02) 6773 2500

 Dr Simone Valle de SouzaDr Simone Valle de Souza

UNE Business School
Deputy Director of the UNE Centre for Local Government
Phone: (02) 6773 2542

 Associate Professor Phil SimmonsAssociate Professor Phil Simmons

Research Director
Phone: (02) 6773 2314 

 Galia Akimova Galia Akimova

Project Officer, School of Engineering
Griffith University
Phone: (07) 5552 7199

 Dr Alexandr AkimovDr Alexandr Akimov

Senior Lecturer, Accounting, Finance and Economics
Griffith University
Phone: (07) 5552 8579

 Dr Boyd BlackwellDr Boyd Blackwell

UNE Business School, NINIT, One CRC
Phone: (02) 6773 3279

 Dr Joel ByrnesDr Joel Byrnes

Associate Director, Policy and Regulation, AECOM
Phone: (03) 9653 8466

 Dr Lou ConwayDr Lou Conway

UNE Business School
Phone: (02) 6773 3919

 Professor Lin CraseProfessor Lin Crase

La Trobe University, Albury/Wodonga Campus
Phone: (02) 6058 3834

 Darren DallingerDarren Dallinger

Moreton Bay Regional Council
Phone: (07) 3205 0555

 Dr Roberto Dell'AnnoDr Roberto Dell'Anno

University of Salerno

 Nigel Graves Nigel Graves

General Manager, Central Land Council, Northern Territory
Phone: (08) 8951 6204
Nigel is currently the General Manager, Central Land Council, Northern Territory. He has over 30 years work experience in strategic planning and financial management, including senior management positions in Australian local government and a large government business enterprise, and is a Fellow of CPA Australia.

 Dr Colin HearfieldDr Colin Hearfield

Geography and Planning, UNE
Phone: (02) 6773 2426

 Associate Professor Ho Chong MunAssociate Professor Ho Chong Mun

School of Science & Technology, Universiti Malaysia Sabah

 Dr Andrew JohnsonDr Andrew Johnson

CEO, Point Pirie Regional Council
Phone: (08) 8633 9777

 Dr Stephen JonesDr Stephen Jones

University of Queensland Business School
Phone: (07) 3365 2995

 Dr Francis Karanja Dr Francis Karanja

Victorian Department of Primary Industries
Phone: (03) 9658 4824

 Associate Professor Yukio Kinoshita Associate Professor Yukio Kinoshita

Iwate University
Phone: +81 19 621 6130

 Dean Knight Dean Knight

Faculty of Law
Victoria University Wellington
Phone: +64 4 463 6364

 Dr Michael Kortt Dr Michael Kortt

Southern Cross Business School
Southern Cross University
Phone: (07) 5506 9320

judy-pic Dr Judith McNeil

Institute for Rural Futures, UNE
Southern Cross University
Phone: (02) 6773 2220

 Associate Professor Rui Cunha MarquesProfessor Rui Cunha Marques

Technical University, Lisbon

 Dr Lyndon MegarrityDr Lyndon Megarrity

Lyndon Megarrity is an historian with an interest in the history of local government.

 Associate Professor Sue O'K'eefeAssociate Professor Sue O'K'eefe

School of Business,
La Trobe University
Phone: (02) 6024 9831

 Barry F. PullingerBarry F. Pullinger

Retired town clerk/general manager, Tamworth
Phone: (02) 6653 1790

 Dr Jen SnowballDr Jen Snowball

Department of Economics
Rhodes University, South Africa

 Mr Richard StaynerMr Richard Stayner

Institute for Rural Futures, UNE
Phone: (02) 6773 2281

 Dr. Ian TileyDr. Ian Tiley (

Councillor/Emeritus Mayor - Clarence Valley Council NSW AND Chairperson Inaugural Northern Rivers Regional Development Australia Committee
Phone: +61 2 6773 3001 Mobile: 0438645433
Email: or

 Professor Gert van der WesthuizenProfessor Gert van der Westhuizen

Vaal Triangle Campus of the North West University
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Phone: (02) 6773 2816

 Professor Andrew WorthingtonProfessor Andrew Worthington

Department of Accounting, Finance & Economics,
Griffith University
Phone: (07) 3735 4273

 Associate Professor Habib ZafarullahAssociate Professor Habib Zafarullah

School of Social Sciences, UNE
Phone: (02) 6773 2250

Dr Linda McLoughlin

Institute of Public Administration, Dublin
Phone: (02) 6773 2220

Professor Craig Parsons

Faculty of Economics,
Yokohama National University, Japan
Phone: +81 45 339 3539

Professor Joe Wallis

Department of Public Administration,
American University of Sharjah