Research Training Program

The  Australian Commonwealth Government has announced changes to the way it funds the Research Training Scheme. This is the funding scheme that supports Universities to deliver research training to Higher Degree Research (HDR) students enrolled in Research Masters and in Research Doctoral programs. From January 1, 2017 the Research Training Scheme (RTS) will become the Research Training Program (RTP).

From January 1, 2017 Research Training Program will cover:

1. APA and IPRS scholarship schemes.

The APA scholarship will continue with the same terms and conditions. The IPRS scholarship will continue with the same terms and conditions, which includes covering International tuition fees. Both these scholarships will now be known as RTP scholarships. For information about RTP scholarship rounds please to to the RTP Scholarship webpage.

2. Fee Offset

This is the key change for current Australian HDR students. The Australian Commonwealth Government has for many years provided a fee exemption for Australian HDR students. From January 1, 2017 the Government requires all Universities to declare, in writing, the amount of that funding as an RTP scholarship. At the University of New England this fee offset is, on average, about $11, 000.00 per HDR student in 2017, whether in a Research Masters or Doctoral program.

Please note that this change does not require HDR students to pay any tuition fees.

HDR students will need to continue to pay the UNE Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF), as they currently do.

More information about this change can be found on the Department of Education and Training website on the Research Training Program webpage.

The Department of Education has established an FAQ specifically for HDR students on the Research Training Program webpage.

HDR Students should contact the HDR Team in Research Services if they wish to discuss these changes further.