Museum of Education
The Museum of Education is built around a unique collection of historic school houses. These are a 1883 'beehive' school (Pallamallawa), a Dumaresq school from the 1880s and a 1948 portable classroom from Armidale High. Each schoolhouse is furnished with authentic school furniture, books, teaching aids and photographs.
One of the exhibits at the Museum is a replica of an old travelling school. The travelling school consists of a wagon with a sleeping bunk, a cooking stove and a blackboard. It was both home and school for the teacher. This replica was constructed in 1959 under the supervision of a former travelling school teacher from Ivanhoe.
In addition, the Museum has a superb collection of early school texts and departmental publications, comprising 6,000 volumes.
The Museum exhibits the rich heritage of education in this region and is a must-see for anyone with an interest in the history of education or rural life.
The Museum is open by appointment. Groups and individuals interested in visiting the Museum should contact:
The University Curator
P: 02 6773 6466
The Museum is located on Kentucky St, Armidale, next to the New England Regional Art Museum.