Nursing (postgraduate) courses

These inherent requirements apply to the following courses: Master of Nursing, Master of Nursing Practice, Graduate Certificate in Acute Care Nursing.

Introduction to inherent requirements for Postgraduate nursing courses

The University of New England strongly supports the rights of all people who wish to pursue a postgraduate nursing course at UNE to achieve their potential and career objectives. The University is committed to making reasonable adjustments to teaching and learning, assessment, clinical practice and other activities to address the impact of students' disabilities so that they are able to participate in their course.

To support potential and current students' decision making, a series of inherent requirement statements has been developed. These statements specify the course requirements of postgraduate nursing courses for student admission and progression. The statements are clustered under 8 domains consisting of ethical behaviour, behavioural stability, legal, communication, cognition, sensory abilities, strength and mobility and sustainable performance. Many of the activities associated with the professional practice of a registered nurse are time sensitive, where the capacity to perform certain activities within specified time limits is required to reduce or avoid risks to patient safety and wellbeing. The safety and wellbeing of you and others is always of paramount importance.

The inherent requirements outlined below provide a guide for students and staff when deciding whether you are able to meet these requirements and the type of reasonable adjustments that could be put in place to allow you to complete the course without compromising the academic integrity of the course.

How to read the inherent requirement statements

If you are intending to enrol in a post graduate nursing course at the University of New England you should look at these Inherent requirement statements and think about whether you may experience challenges in meeting these requirements. If you think you may experience challenges related to your disability, chronic health condition or any other reason, you should discuss your concerns with a campus Disability Advisor or the School of Health staff, such as the Course Coordinator.

These inherent requirements should be read in conjunction with other course information and NMBA publications such as Guidelines for Mandatory Notifications, A Nurse's Guide to Professional Boundaries, National Competency Standards for the Midwife, National Competency Standards for the Nurse Practitioner, and National Competency Standards for the Registered Nurse.

Each inherent requirement is made up of the following five levels:

Level 1 - introduction to the inherent requirement  

Level 2 - description of what the inherent requirement is

Level 3 - explanation of why this is an inherent requirement of the course

Level 4 - the nature of any adjustments that may be made to allow you to meet the requirement

Level 5 - examples of things you must be able to do to show you've met the requirement

Inherent requirement domains

For each of the post graduate courses one or more of the following domains apply. Some domains also have a number of sub domains.

  • Ethical Behaviour
  • Behavioural Stability
  • Legal
  • Communication
  • Cognition
  • Sensory ability
  • Strength & Mobility
  • Sustainable Performance

Inherent requirements apply to the following post graduate nursing courses:

© School of Nursing and Midwifery, UWS 2012
Adapted and used with permission

UWS Logo