Staff Research Interests

  • animal nutrition
  • selective breeding
  • anthelmintic treatment
  • management practices
  • drug resistance
  • animal production
Academic Research Interests
Mr Hawlader Al-mamun
P: +61 2 6773 3525
F: +61 2 6773 3992
E: ahawlade@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Dr Momenuzzaman Bhuiyan
P: +61 2 6773 2670
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: mbhuiya2@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Dr Wendy Brown
P: +61 2 6773 5125
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: wbrown@une.edu.au
  • animal nutrition
  • companion animal health and nutrition
  • canine dental health
  • urate urolithiasis in the Dalmatian
  • palatability testing
  • grass eating behaviour in dogs
Dr Dana Campbell
P: +61 2 6773 5124
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: dcampb38@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Professor Mingan Choct
P: +61 2 6773 5121
F: +61 2 6773 3050
E: mchoct@une.edu.au
  • poultry science
  • monogastric animal nutrition
  • CEO, Poultry CRC
Dr Samuel Clark
P: +61 2 6773 3328
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: sam.clark@une.edu.au
  • animal genetics & breeding
  • quantitative genetics
  • breeding program design
  • estimation and optimization algorithms;
  • estimation of QTL - effects
  • economics of genetic improvement
Professor David Cottle
P: +61 2 6773 2178
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: dcottle@une.edu.au
  • sheep & wool science
  • Wool Chair, Sheep CRC
  • production efficiency
  • feed intake and methane production
  • controlled feeding
  • modelling livestock production
  • wool quality and prices
  • selection indexes, including twinning
Dr Fran Cowley
P: +61 2 6773 6164
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: fcowley@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Dr Amanda Doughty
P: +61 2 6773 3241
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: amanda.doughty@une.edu.au
  • animal science
  • animal welfare
  • developing, validating and refining techniques used to assess animal welfare, particularly in grazing species in extensive systems
  • understanding links  between motivation/preference and animal welfare
  • the behaviour of farm animals
  • correlating behavioural and physiological changes in farm animals with animal welfare measures
Dr Emma Doyle
P: +61 2 6773 3094
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: edoyle3@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Dr Cecilia Esquivelzeta Rabell
P: +61 2 6773 3525
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: crabell2@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Dr Geert Geesink
P: +61 2 6773 3257
F: +61 2 6773 2246
E: geert.geesink@une.edu.au
  • meat science
  • post mortem proteolysis in muscle tissue
  • determinants of meat quality
Prof John Gibson
P: +61 2 6773 2930
F: +61 2 6773 3275
E: jgibson5@une.edu
  • animal genetics & breeding
  • quantitative genetics and breeding
  • economics of genetic improvement
  • gene discovery and applications
  • international agriculture development
Dr Ian Godwin
P: +61 2 6773 2488
F: +61 2 6773 3275
E: igodwin@une.edu.au
  • animal physiology
  • comparative erythrocyte biochemistry
  • the regulation of gastrointestinal motility in ruminants
  • comparative gastrointestinal development
  • aquaculture
Dr Cedric Gondro
P: +61 2 6773 3978
F: +61 2 6773 3275
E: cgondro2@une.edu.au
  • animal genetics & breeding
  • computational methods and statistical analysis of high-throughput genomic data
  • evolution, diversity and population genetics
  • Evolutionary Computation and Artificial Life
Mr Tom Granleese
P: +61 4 3233 9008
E: tgranle2@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Professor Roger Hegarty
P: +61 2 6773 3978
F: +61 2 6773 3922 
E: roger.hegarty@une.edu.au
  • animal genetics & breeding
  • measurement and management of methane from ruminants
  • role of nitrate and rumen protozoa in reducing methane emissions
  • protein and energy nutrition of ruminants
  • breeding sheep and cattle for low methane emission
Prof Geoff Hinch
P: +61 2 6773 2202
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: ghinch@une.edu.au
  • animal production
  • livestock behaviour and reproduction should cover research focus
Professor Paul Iji
P: +61 2 6773 2082
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: piji@une.edu.au
  • poultry science
  • nutrition of poultry and pigs
  • effects of anti-nutritional factors on farm animals
  • development of digestive function in poultry
  • nutritional application of biotechnology feed additives (microbial enzymes; prebiotics)
  • evaluation of alternative feed resources for poultry and pigs
Dr Lewis Kahn
P: +61 2 6773 2997
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: lkahn3@une.edu.au
  • animal science
  • eology of major parasites of ruminant livestock
  • integrated control strategies for major parasites of ruminant livestock
  • improving reproductive success of sheep
  • grazing management strategies for livestock production, animal health and pasture production
  • coordination of Australia's sheep parasite control resources
Dr Yan Laurenson
P: +61 2 6773 5156
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: ylaurens@une.edu.au
  • animal nutrition
  • selective breeding
  • anthelmintic treatment
  • management practices
  • drug resistance
  • animal production
Dr Sang Hong Lee
P: +61 2 6773 3665
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: slee38@une.edu.au
  • statistical genetics
  • quantitative genetics
  • population genetics
  • genomics
  • medical research
Dr Cecile Massault
P: +61 2 6773 2940
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: cecile.massault@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Dr Deborah Maxwell
E: dmaxwel2@une.edu.au
  • animal science
Ms Lynette McLean
P: +61 2 6773 2940
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: lmclean@une.edu.au
  • animal science
  • genetics
  • human population genetics
  • interaction of genetics and society
  • application of statistics
Dr Nasiroddin Moghaddar
P: +61 2 6773 2455
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: n.moghaddar@une.edu.au
  • animal breeding and genetics
  • application of genomics in animal breeding
Dr Katrin Renz
P: +61 2 6773 3094
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: krenz@une.edu.au
  • animal science
A/Professor Julie Roberts
P: +61 2 6773 2506
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: jrobert2@une.edu.au
  • poultry science
  • egg and egg shell quality in laying hens
  • infectious bronchitis disease in laying hens
  • kidney structure and function in avian species
Professor James Rowe
P: +61 2 6773 1316
F: +61 2 6773 1400
E: jrowe@une.edu.au
  • animal science
  • CEO, Sheep CRC
  • ruminant nutrition
  • sheep production
  • wool and sheep meat supply chains
Dr Isabelle Ruhnke
P: +61 2 6773 5155
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: iruhnke@une.edu.au
  • animal health, welfare and nutrition
  • the nutritional impact of feed on odour emission in broiler chickens
  • the effect of feed on the immune system in Necrotic Enteritis Model (broiler chickens)
  • the effect of parasite infection on the immune system
  • the impact of enzymes on finer digestion in chickens
  • the influence of insect feeding on free range chickens
Dr Eva Strucken
P: +61 2 6773 3525
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: estrucke@une.edu.au
  • cattle genetics and genomics
  • genome-wide association studies (GWAS)
  • time-dependent genetic effects
  • environment-dependent genetic effects
  • breed diversity
  • selection signatures
Professor Bob Swick
P: +61 2 6773 5126
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: rswick@une.edu.au
  • animal science
  • poultry nutrition
  • animal energetics and metabolism
  • gut physiology and disease
  • toxic constituents in feedstuffs
Professor Julius van der Werf
P: +61 2 6773 2092
F: +61 2 6773 3275
E: jvanderw@une.edu.au
  • animal genetics & breeding
  • quantitative genetics and genomics
  • breeding objectives and multiple trait selection
  • improvement of livestock systems
  • genetic and genomic prediction
  • statistical genetics
Prof Steve Walkden-Brown
P: +61 2 6773 5152
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: swalkden@une.edu.au
  • animal health
  • diseases of sheep & goats with a special interest in the integrated control of internal parasites
  • sheep & goat production systems
  • diseases of poultry with a special interest in Marek's disease
  • epidemiology and molecular surveillance of viral diseases in poultry
Dr Shubiao Wu
P: +61 2 6773 2238
F: +61 2 6773 3922
E: swu3@une.edu.au
  • animal science
  • poultry disease/nutrition
  • gut microflora and net energy system
  • molecular quantification of intestinal bacteria in poultry
  • plant genetics
  • gene expression, molecular markers and mapping