Canine and Equine Research Group

Introduction

The Canine and Equine Research Group aims to increase our knowledge and understanding of the Canidae and Equidae, both wild and domestic, with a primary focus on improving health, welfare and management.

Collaboration is the key to our successful research ventures that focus around individual student research projects, pulling together expertise from a variety of specialty areas, and engaging industry professionals where appropriate.

Research collaborators include scientists from: the Animal Welfare Research Group (CSIRO, Chiswick); Waltham Centre for Pet Nutrition (UK); NSW Department of Primary Industries; and Invasive Animals CRC.

Research

  • Canine Scent Detection
  • Applied Nutrition
  • Feeding Behaviour
  • Working Dog Performance
  • Human-Animal Interactions
  • Health and Welfare of Companion Animals
  • Applied Ethology

Our People

Staff

Dr Wendy Brown
Email: wbrown@une.edu.au

Dr Paul McDonald
Email: paul.mcdonald@une.edu.au

Dr Shubiao Wu
Email: swu3@une.edu.au

Dr Kath Shorter
Email: kshorter@une.edu.au

Dr James Butler - Adjunct
Email: James.Butler@csiro.au

Dr Caroline Lee – Adjunct
Email: Caroline.Lee@csiro.au

Dr Alison Small – Adjunct
Email: Alison.Small@csiro.au

Dr Joanne Righetti – Adjunct
Email: drjoanne@petproblemsolved.com.au

Dr Nerida Richards (RAnNutr) – Adjunct
Email: nerida@equilize.com.au

A/Prof Peter Fleming – Adjunct
Email: peter.fleming@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Guy Ballard – Adjunct
Email: guy.ballard@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Research Students

Brooke Kennedy – Improving Management of Free-roaming Dogs in Remote Indigenous Communities
Email: bkenned9@myune.edu.au

Paige Matthews – Alpacas as guardians – how effective are they at protecting sheep?
Email: pmatthe7@myune.edu.au

Huw Nolan – Communication in Wild Canids
Email: hnolan2@myune.edu.au

Lauren Humby – Pawsitive Solutions: Prison-based Animal Programs
Email: lhumby@myune.edu.au

Jane Clothier – Prematurity in Horses
Email: Jane.Clothier@csiro.au

Partnerships, Supporters and Community Engagement

Contact Us

Dr Wendy Brown
School of Environmental and Rural Science
Phone: +61 2 6773 5125
Email: wbrown@une.edu.au